County Juvenile Mixed Badminton Championships 2012 / 2013

Dramatic Conclusions To Under 18 Grade 1 Finals
At County Juvenile Mixed Badminton Championships


Reigning Connacht Under 17 Champions Jack Davies (GLTC) and Emily Darby (GLTC) completed their expected provincial and county double last Sunday but they were pushed all the way by Connacht Under 15 duo Luke Gannon (Conamara Thiar) and Molly Davies (GLTC) in a thrilling finale to the Galway Mixed Doubles Championships at GLTC.  The underdogs blew a 13-6 lead in the first set, rallied superbly to clinch the second, and drew level at 19-19 in the third before finally succumbing on the next two points.  If they can reproduce this kind of form next Saturday in the Connacht Under 15 Closed Championships in Castlebar, then they could well emulate Davies and Darby’s achievement in Roscommon earlier this year.  The Under 18 Grade 1 Plate Final was also a hugely entertaining affair with Louis Barry (Killannin) and Jennifer Lalor (GLTC) eventually overcoming the Conamara Thiar combination of Daniel Pryce Williams and Amy Gannon in a thrilling three setter.  The West Connemara players were gutted at the finish as they had two match points at 20-18 in the third.

Elsewhere, Killannin’s Lara Walker made the step up from Under 18 Grade 3 to Under 18 Grade 2 a successful one when she partnered Conamara Thiar’s Jamie Merrin Pryce to victory over Danny Zhen (GLTC) and Roisin Moran (Cortoon).  The Under 18 Grade 3 title went the way of Claregalway’s Harry and Leah Flemming after they edged out Elaine Carr (Ardrahan) and Cathal McGrath (Oranmore).  In the Under 10 A final, and all Claregalway affair, Jonathan Flynn and Seoighe O’Neill saved three match points in their nail-biting victory over David Wynne and Ava Killian, while in the Under 12 A equivalent, Dara Gilmore (Claregalway) and Laura Flynn (Claregalway) saw off challenge of Sam Concannon (Claregalway) and Sinéad Daly (Conamara Thiar).  The GCBA Juvenile Committee would like to extend a special word of thanks and appreciation to Shane Wynne (Claregalway), Tom Fitzgibbon (Ardrahan), Mary Forde (Claregalway), Angela Carr (Ardrahan), Joan Barry (Killannin), Niamh Cahill (Ardrahan), and Anthony Conneely (Oranmore) for their invaluable administrative contribution to the successful running of their championships.


The focus for the remainder of the season will be very much on the inter-county and provincial scene.  Trials will be convened at Under 11 and Under 13 levels to select Galway teams for the upcoming Connacht Inter Counties Championships.  The Under 17 team to take on Mayo and Connacht North East will comprise all the aforementioned Grade 1 players and some of these will also be travelling to Dublin on March 16th to represent Connacht in the Inter Provincial Championships. 


Meanwhile, Killannin BC hosted a very successful socio-competitive open invitational tournament on January 27th last with 29 players from all over the county in attendance.   Cumann Badmantan na gCeathrún Rua and Claregalway BC will be doing likewise over the coming weeks (dates to be confirmed).  


The first of a series of coaching sessions under the direction of Level 3 Coach Tommy Hehir commences next Sunday at 10 am in GLTC.  These sessions should be of huge benefit not only to the juvenile players but also to their club coaches who have the option of assisting Tommy and thereby tapping into his vast reservoir of knowledge and experience in this area.

2013 County Mixed Championships Results Sequence


Under 18, Grade 1

Winners: Jack Davies (GLTC) and Emily Darby (GLTC)

Runners Up:  Luke Gannon (Conamara Thiar) and Molly Davies (GLTC)

Plate Winners:  Louis Barry (Killannin) and Jennifer Lalor (GLTC)

Plate Runners Up:  Daniel Pryce-Williams (Conamara Thiar) and Amy Gannon (Conamara Thiar)


Under 18, Grade 2

Winners: Jamie Merrin Pryce (Conamara Thiar) and Lara Walker (Killannin)

Runners Up:  Danny Zhen (GLTC) and Róisín Moran (Cortoon)

Plate Winners:  Ruairc Ó Murchú (GLTC) and Céití Daly (Conamara Thiar)

Plate Runners Up:  David Comer (GLTC) and Diana Banduit (GLTC)


Under 18, Grade 3

Winners: Leah Fleming (Claregalway) and Harry Fleming (Claregalway)

Runners Up:  Elaine Carr (Ardrahan) and Cathal McGrath (Oranmore)

Plate Winners:  Robert Crosbie (Ardrahan) and Amy Gilmore (Claregalway)

Plate Runners Up:  Peter Fitzgerald (Ardrahan) and Elaine Carr (Ardrahan)

Under 12 A

Winners: Dara Gilmore (Claregalway) and Laura Flynn (Claregalway)

Runners Up:  Sam Concannon (Claregalway) and Sinéad Daly (Conamara Thiar)

Plate Winners:  Jacob Conneely (Oranmore) and Laura Carr (Ardrahan)

Under 12 B

Winners: Aoife Burke (Killannin) and Matiss Peterson (Oranmore)

Runners Up:  Jack Concannon (Claregalway) and Sarah Nasri (Conamara Thiar)

Plate Winners:  Matiss Peterson (Oranmore) and Katelyn Sylvester (Oranmore)

Plate Runners Up:  Nicolas Nasri (Conamara Thiar) and Kate Fahy (Claregalway)

Under 10 A

Winners: Jonathan Flynn (Claregalway) and Seoighe O’Neill (Claregalway)

Runners Up:  Daniel Wynne (Claregalway) and Ava Killian (Claregalway)

Plate Winners:  Darren Melody (Claregalway) and Aoife Wall (Claregalway)

Plate Runners Up:  Enda McCormack (Claregalway) and Ava Killian (Claregalway)

Under 10 B

Winners: Liam Furey (Oranmore) and Aibhe Burke (Claregalway)

Runners Up:  Daniel Fenton (Claregalway) and Ella Gilmore (Claregalway)

Plate Winners:  Ronan McCormack (Claregalway) and Aibhe Burke  (Claregalway)

Plate Runners Up:  Jason Carr (Ardrahan) and Ava Killian (Claregalway)